Bolaño meets Vigolo

My life in Rome was short and simple. I worked in a shoe store and lived in a boardinghouse on Via della Luce, in Trastevere. At night, when I got home, I would take Zia out for a walk. We usually went to a park behind the church of Sant’Egidio, and as the cat wandered among the plants I would open a book and try to read…but all I remember of what I read is a hot curtain or maybe just a warm curtain fluttering in the slight breeze of Rome at dusk, and plants and trees and the sound of footsteps. One night I met the devil. That’s all I remember.

Roberto Bolaño. The Savage Detectives. Picador, 2007

https://i0.wp.com/www.museodiromaintrastevere.it/var/museicivici/storage/images/musei/museo_di_roma_in_trastevere/percorsi/percorsi_per_temi/la_roma_sparita_di_ettore_roesler_franz/trastevere_e_campidoglio/73758-2-ita-IT/trastevere_e_campidoglio_large.jpg

Ettore Roesler Franz, Gruppo di vecchie Case Mediovali alla Longaretta, angolo via della Luce , 1887

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://miseraestupendacitta.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/bolano-meets-vigolo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

